error: c0001f011

This was a fun one.  I was using Sql Server Management Studio (2008 R2) to edit a scheduled SQL job.  When I went to edit one of the steps, I got this error:

Creating an instance of the COM component with CLSID {AA40D1D6-CAEF-4A56-B9BB-D0D3DC976BA2}
from the IClassFactory failed due to the following error: c001f011. (Microsoft.SqlServer.ManagedDTS).Additional Information:
Creating an instance of the COM component with CLSID
{AA40D1D6-CAEF-4A56-B9BB-D0D3DC976BA2} from the IClassFactory failed due to the following
error: c001f011. (Microsoft.SqlServer.ManagedDTS)

I especially liked the part about the additional information.  I was like, “whoa! I’m glad I had all of that additional information, so I would have some idea about what was going on here.  Thanks a bunch!”

Okay, enough sarchasm (for now).

Naturally, I searched on bing and goog to see if anyone had solved these issues.  …no ma’am!

The solution seemed to be: close SSMS and re-open it.  However, the error seems to come back occasionally.  I’m going to continue to search for better solutions.  I’ll keep you posted.

About Tim Golisch

I'm a geek. I do geeky things.
This entry was posted in Errors. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

