Error 500 – SharePoint 2010 on Windows 7 x64

Note: this story is about new installations of SharePoint 2010.

When I heard that you could install SharePoint 2010 on Windows 7 x64, I was stoked.  Finally, I could do development on a developer machine instead of a server.  I went home and installed Windows 7 (N) x64 on my home machine (AMD Phenom II x2 with 6 GB RAM, 500GB HDD).  (btw, Windows 7 rulez).  I followed this guide from MSDN.  It worked AWESOMELY!!!  Then I installed Visual Studio 2010, and I was jammin away.
 
– Fast-forward 2 months –
 
I’m at work and I need to do some SharePoint 2010 development, so I install SP’10 on my Dell workstation (Windows 7 x64 on an Intel dual core, with 4 GB RAM).  Everything completes nicely and I get a web page saying “Error 500”.  Nice, thanks for all the detail.
 
So, I open “Event Viewer” and look at “Windows Logs”, “Application”.  Zowie, there are about 20 errors in there.
 
 
Each one says:

ISAPI Filter ‘C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v4.0.30319\aspnet_filter.dll’ could not be loaded due to a configuration problem. The current configuration only supports loading images built for a AMD64 processor architecture. The data field contains the error number. To learn more about this issue, including how to troubleshooting this kind of processor architecture mismatch error, … [reference to a meaningless web address]
– or –
Could not load all ISAPI filters for site ‘SHAREPOINT – 80’. Therefore site startup aborted

I did  a bunch of searching around on the internet and found a bunch of BAD advice.  So, here are some things that WILL NOT HELP:

  • Don’t bother setting the IIS app pool for SharePoint to allow 32-bit apps
  • Uninstalling dotnet 4.0 is stupid.  Doy!  You are going to need it sooner or later.
  • Registry changes to allow IIS 6 and 7 (at the same time) won’t help.
  • Running aspnet_regiis.exe -i doesn’t seem to help

When I tried to change the Application Pool for “SharePoint – 80” to allow 32-bit apps. I did get another error, that pointed me in the right direction.  The error said this:

The Module DLL ‘C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Web Server Extensions\14\isapi\owssvr.dll’ could not be loaded due to a configuration problem. The current configuration only supports loading images built for a x86 processor architecture. The data field contains the error number. To learn more about this issue, including how to troubleshooting this kind of processor architecture mismatch error, see [some pointless/unhelpful web address].

So, here are the two things that DID help:

  1. This article on Stack Overflow had half of the magic sauce.  However, it left-out some important next steps, so I added a post/solution that fills-in the rest of the details.  In the article, the author says that you need to edit the applicationHost.config file (no hint where to find that file) and change the entry for “SharePoint14Module” set the preCondition to force 64-bit processing with the term “bitness64”.   Totally bananas!  How did this guy know something so obscure?
  2. The article didn’t mention that IIS may still try to load the darn ISAPI DLLs via the 32-bit version of dotnet.  Doh!  So, you have to go under “IIS Manager”, Sites, “SharePoint – 80”, IIS, “ISAPI Filters”, and make sure all of the “Executable” paths point to the %windir%\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\* path instead of the %windir%\Microsoft.NET\Framework\* (was not 64)

(Before)

In case I was unclear:
    “\Framework\” = Bad
    “\Framework64\” = Good

Then I restarted the WWW service and SharePoint 2010 worked on my Dell/Intel with Windows 7 x64.

About Tim Golisch

I'm a geek. I do geeky things.
This entry was posted in Errors. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

