Today, I don’t suck!

Several years ago, I was told that I was an under-achiever.  Mostly, because I set unrealistic goals, and therefore, I was unable to achieve those goals.  If I were to set more realistic goals, then I would be just fine. 

Back to modern-day… 

At work, there is a lot of maintenance to be done, and some people are feeling a little disillusioned by the lack of progress.  Telling them that I am only one person and I can only work so fast, just doesn’t seem to help much.  So, I have been working on trying to set realistic goals (for myself) and expectations (for others).  So, my goal has been this: to not suck.  Pretty meager but highly achievable.  I think this will give me an opportunity to under-promise and over-deliver (hopefully, in a big way).

Well, these last two weeks at work have been a little hectic.  Bugs and critical errors have been pouring in faster than I can address them.  So, I have been feeling like I have been getting further and further behind.  The sinking feeling has nearly been overwhelming and at the end of the day, I have been feeling totally drained.

Yesterday, I knocked out a big bug, which is gradually going live today.  Today, I actually knocked out two serious issues that have been hanging over my head for nearly two weeks.  So, I really feel like I have had a serious surge of productivity.  However, I don’t want to seem boastful or set people’s expectations too high.  So, here is my battle-cry for the day:

I don’t suck!  (today)

Yes.  I really nailed it today (so far). 
I’m hopeful that I will continue to not suck tomorrow, but I don’t want to jinx myself.

About Tim Golisch

I'm a geek. I do geeky things.
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Today, I don’t suck!

  1. robert says:

    you da man!

Leave a Reply

